Prosocial Leadership 

​In need of training

“If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed”

Albert Einstein

  • Stage One:  The " Awareness and Empathetic Concern " stage happens when the emerging leader looks back into their past and selects those events where they experienced empathy. These past events create in the emerging leader a desire to become a person who cares for others, as they received care in their past. The desire for becoming an empathetic person who serves others results in personal developmental goals. 

  • Stage Two:  The “ Community and Group Commitment ” stage occurs when the emerging leader realizes their personal goals to care for others will need to be carried out within a group they are committed to serving. The emerging leader is either a member of the group or not a member of the group.  Both present challenges, but in either case, the leader must modify their goals to include both their personal goals and group goals. The individual in this stage begins to become aware of the role of altruism, since they may need to give some or all of their personal development goals. 

  • Stage Three:  The “ Courage and Action ” stage occurs when the individual feels vulnerable, yet must find the courage to act to help others.  The emerging leader realizes that the help they intend to provide is no longer in their mind, and their thoughts move them to action. When they act altruistically, they begin to understand the importance action has for both simultaneously grow themselves and others.  

  • Stage Four:   The “Reflection and Growth ” stage occurs when the individual is mindful of their own growth and realizes that this growth happened from the process of awareness of empathy, community commitment, courageous action, and because of this have personally grown from the process, thus they commit to future service to others.  

"When Jesus heard this, He said to him, "One thing you still lack; sell all that you possess and distribute it to the poor, and you shall have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me."

 Jesus of Nazareth (Luke 18:22, NIV)

Individual training focuses on helping leaders identify the four steps and corresponding stages of the Prosocial Leadership Development Process.  Organizations, Nonprofits and Higher Educational Institutions that are in need of a tested developmental model that can enable, foster and support individual leadership development - can use this leadership developmental model. The training typically happens within an organizational setting, but individual coaching and training of the Prosocial Leadership Development model are also available.  

Copyright © Prosocial Leadership. All rights reserved.

Understanding Prosocial Leadership

Prosocial Leadership Development Process

Individual Training